Antigua and Barbuda

Geographical Location :- North America [ Caribbean, island between the Caribbean sea and the North Atlantic Ocean]
Official Name :- Antigua and Barbuda
Capital :- Saint John's
Currency :- East Caribbean Dollar
Indipendence :- 1 November 1981
Area :- 442.6
Population :- 86,295
GDP [Gross Domestic Product]:- 1,187
HDI [Human Development Index] :- 60
Literacy:- 99%
Life Expectancy:- 74.76

Language :- English and Patois
National Anthem :- Fair Antigua, We Salute Three
Government Type :- Constitutional Monarchy with UK-style parliament
Monarch:- Elizabeth II ##
Prime Minister :- Balwin Spencer ##

Arwak Indians populated the island when Columbus landed on his second voyage in 1493. Early settlements by the Spanish and French were succeeded by the English who formed a colony in 1667. Slavery, established to run the sugar plantations on Antigua, was abolished in 1834. The island became an independent sate within the British Commonwealth of Nations in 1981

  • Nick name :- Land of 365 Beaches